Gata Kamsky's Masterclass About How the Adjournment Rule Affected His Career

Время публикации: 17.07.2012 20:04 | Последнее обновление: 17.07.2012 20:11

During his free day at the ACP Golden Classic tournament, Gata Kamsky told in detail (in English) about the game 13 of his 1996 World Championship Match against Anatoly Karpov. In that game Gata, who was playing with black, for the second time in the match used a rare idea in the known Queen's Indian position: 12...Rb8 (the usual move these days is 12...Rc8). But the most interesting things happened in the endgame - Karpov had some advantage, but made several mistakes and after the move 56 (the second time control) Black had the clear advantage.

This is how Anatoly Karpov describes what happened next, "Having thought for more than half an hour, I wrote down my secret move with the bishop to a3. Initially, it seemed that White's situation was very bad: he was a pawn down and was going to lose another one soon. Once I got back to my room, I immediately started to analyse the position and remained seated at the chess board for about seventeen hours, almost without getting up. Add up to that ten hours of the game itself (six hours up to the first time control and four hours during the adjournment) and it would probably work out as one of the longest games in my chess career. [...] What remains to be said is that the night's work brought results: all key arrangements of the pieces were found by the joint effort of the team. Our team, unexpectedly for itself, determined that, despite the absence of two pawns, it's almost unrealistic to overcome White in that position".

At the end of his tale Gata Kamsky said, "This game is a real example of adjournment advantages during that time. I think that if the game continued without a break, then I would have led it to victory. That's how the adjournment rule affected my chess career..."



Смотрите также...