FIDE Announced New Series of Grand Prix: To Berlin and Paris With Sofia Rules

Время публикации: 19.05.2012 15:15 | Последнее обновление: 19.05.2012 15:17

The International Chess Federation and the company AGON published full details of the new Grand Prix cycle 2012/2013. As the previous Grand Prix 2008/2009 (which was finished in 2010) the new series will also consist of six tournaments. 

Chelyabinsk, September 19 - October 3 
Tashkent, November 21 – December 4 
Lisbon, April 10–24
Madrid, May 22 - June 4 
Berlin, July 3-17
Paris, September 18 - October 2 

Each tournament will gather 12 participants. 

18 players qualified to the Grand Prix: Reigning World Champion and Challenger from 2012 Viswanathan anand and Boris Gelfand, semifinalists of the World Cup Peter Svidler, Alexander Grischuk, Vassily Ivanchuk and Ruslan Ponomariov, five players with the highest ELO: Magnus Carlsen, Levon Aronian, Vladimir Kramnik, Sergey Karjakin and Veselin Topalov. The FIDE President may nominate one player who must be rated at least 2700 as per the January 2012 rating list (not announced), Six players may be nominated by AGON and must be rated not less than 2700 in the January 2012 rating list or have been a former World Chess Champion (not announced). 

Each player will be assigned to play in four of the six cities and his best three results will be accumulated for his / her overall ranking at the end of the series. The top two overall placed in the Grand Prix will qualify for the Candidates event in 2014. 

The reserved players' list has also been published (those are two Americans and three Azerbaijani: Hikaru Nakamura, Vugar Gashimov, Teimour Radjabov, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov and Gata Kamsky), All the players qualified above (including the five reserves) must download and sign the Players Agreement and return it by email no later than 1st June 2012. Players must also submit, along with their signed agreement, the six cities ranked in order or preference of participation.

Players will not be allowed to offer draws directly to their opponents.  Players will continue to play if the Chief Arbiter does not authorise the draw. Any draw claim will be permitted only through the Chief Arbiter in the following cases: a triple-repetition of the position as per FIDE laws of chess, in theoretically drawn position and applying the rule of 50 moves as per FIDE laws of chess.

The overall winner of the Grand Prix will be the one who scores the most number of cumulative points. The cumulative score will be calculated by totaling the Grand Prix ranking points scored by each player in each tournament.  To enter the ?nal ranking a player must have played at least three tournaments. 9 prizes will be awarded from the minimum accumulated prize fund of €420,000. The overall winner will pocket  €100,000 Euros. 

A Player who withdraws from the Grand Prix at any time following signature and delivery of the signed Player Agreement and who fails to provide a reason that FIDE in its sole discretion deems reasonable, will be excluded from the next World Championship cycle.  Such exclusion is in addition to and without prejudice to any other action or sanction that FIDE may reserve or be entitled to take.


Смотрите также...