Poikovsky 2015: Preliminary Line-Up Announced

Время публикации: 14.08.2015 15:07 | Последнее обновление: 14.08.2015 15:08

The 16th edition of the traditional round-robin tournament will take place in Poikovsky from September 27th to October 8th. Among the ten GMs who have agreed to take part, four will be representing Russia - Alexander Morozevich, Dmitry Jakovenko, Evgeny Tomashevsky, Igor Lysyj. The others are Alexei Shirov, Alexander Onischuk, Viorel Bologan, Viktor Laznicka, Emil Sutovsky, and Ilya Smirin.

The line-up isn't final yet: prior to the tournament in Russia, some of these GMs will come to Baku for the World Cup, which will end on October 5th. If any of them goes too far in the FIDE knockout, the Poikovsky organizers will have to look for replacement.


Смотрите также...

  • The traditional tournament named after Anatoly Karpov will take place from September 27th to October 8th in Poikovsky. The strongest will be determined among ten GMs in a round-robin: Alexander Motylev, Sergei Rublevsky, Dmitry Jakovenko (all Russia), Ruslan Ponomariov (Ukraine), Alexander Onischuk (USA), Viorel Bologan (Moldova), Lazaro Bruzon (Cuba), Radoslaw Wojtaszek (Poland), Nigel Short (England) and Wang Yue (China). 

  • Chess-News has found out that Alexander Motylev will replace Evgeny Tomashevsky in Poikovsky tournament which starts on August 27th. The replacement is forced as Tomashevsky has defeated Gata Kamsky in 1/4 final and advanced to the semifinal.  

  • Today is the arrival day of Poikovsky tournament dedicated to the twelfth world champion Anatoly Karpov and they are met by traditional north Russian weather, autumn rain. As we told before this time the participants of the round tournament consist of: Alexander Motylev, Sergei Rublevsky, Dmitry Jakovenko (all Russia), Ruslan Ponomariov (Ukraine), Alexander Onischuk (USA), Viorel Bologan (Moldova), Lazaro Bruzon (Cuba), Radoslaw Wojtaszek (Poland), Nigel Short (England) and Wang Yue (China).

  • Earlier we announced the representative lineup for the 16th Anatoly Karpov tournament at Poikovsky, which runs from 27 September to 8 October this year. The newly-crowned Russian champion, Evgeny Tomashevsky, has decided not to play in Poikovsky, and instead of him, the Association of Chess Professionals has nominated Ernesto Inarkiev. 

  • As usually ten grandmasters will compete at Poikovsky competition scheduled to take place from May 11-20. Four grandmasters out of ten are Russian: Dmitry Jakovenko, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Alexander Morozevich and Alexander Motylev

    Other participants are Alexey Shirov, Viorel Bologan, Etienne Bacrot, Pawel Eljanov, Emil Sutovsky and Ivan Saric.

  • Antov Korobov's triumpant debut in Poikovsky

  • The traditional tournament named after Anatoly Karpov has started in Poikovsky. Below you can find extracts from the commentary Alexander Andreevski, the director of the event, gave Chess-News.

    "The solemn opening ceremony, which took place in sports complex Neptun, went vividly.

  • Today was the only rest day for the participants of the Poikovsky tournament. After four rounds, the leader is Viorel Bologan, who is the rating outsider of the competition in which he has participated fifteen times, having won it thrice. 

  • Emil Sutovsky announced another eight participants of the ACP Cup which will take place in Riga from September 12th-15th live on Chess-News radio:
    Peter Svidler
    Alexander Grischuk
    Shakhriyar Mamedyarov
    Sergey Karjakin
    Alexander Morozevich
    Teimour Radjabov
    Ruslan Ponomariov
    Dmitry Jakovenko
    Alexey Shirov
    Pavel Eljanov
    Alexander Moiseenko
    Igor Kurnosov
    Vladimir Malakhov

  • Croatian GM Ivan Saric was chosen by the Association of Chess Professions to participate at 15th Poikovsky tournament which will take place from May 11 to 20. The organisers of the competition had an agreement with ACP according to which the association hold the right to nominate one participant. As Emil Sutovsky posted on his Facebook page Ivan Saric's achievements were not left unnoticed: he won Wijk aan Zee B-Group competition, also became champion of Croatia and shared 2nd place at European championship.