Not Correct, Surely?

Время публикации: 25.05.2015 12:53 | Последнее обновление: 25.05.2015 17:36

Passions running high in Khanty-Mansiysk

In the ninth round of the Grand Prix in Khanty-Mansiysk, two games ended decisively: Anish Giri beat Baadur Jobava and Evgeny Tomashevsky downed Peter Svidler. 

However, in a rare instance, it was two drawn games that captured the attention, both ending in stalemate. But whilst Karjakin-Caruana was a formal affair, where the two played on to an ending of K+P v K, it is impossible not to give a diagram of the finish in Jakovenko - Gelfand.  

JAKOVENKO - GELFAND

This position would not have arisen if Gelfand had repeated moves at move 24. But after his mistake 24...Nd7? Boris had to suffer for a long time, first in a difficult and then a hopeless position. Here, he has just played g5-g4, "offering material" and hoping for...
49.hxg4?? This! Correct was to bring the king to e3 or g3, whereas now the weaker side's dreams come true. 
49...Qg2+ 50.Ke3 Nd5+ 51.Kd4 Qf2+ 52.Kxd5 Qd4+ 53.Kxd4 1/2


Seconds after the handshake

Again one is reminded of the question posed by Nigel Short on Twitter: why should stalemate be a draw? The English GM takes the view that if you cannot move, whether you are in check or not, you should lose. 

* * *

Slightly earlier, at the neighbouring board, where Karjakin and Caruana were playing, a strange situation arose. The spectators following on the internet saw the players agree a draw at move 49, but a few minutes later, this result was withdrawn and the game continued. While the events were unfolding in the tournament hall, the live transmission was suspended, and the spectators instead saw a report about the rest day, profiles of the players and some adverts. When the broadcast resumed, the commentators did not explain what had happened, referring only to "eyewitness reports". 

For an explanation, we asked chief arbiter Boris Postovsky. 


khantymansiysk2015.fide.com

"Karjakin wrote down his 49th move and claimed a draw by repetition. I was not there at that precise moment, so my assistant Kwai Keong Chen dealt with it. After looking through Karjakin's scoresheet, he decided there had been threefold repetition and declared the game drawn. By then, I was standing nearby also. I asked Caruana "Agreed?". It seemed neither player objected and they signed one of the scoresheets, Karjakin's. But then Chen came over to me, looking embarrassed, and said: "I made a mistake. There was no repetition." It turned out that both he and Karjakin had misread Black's 36th move on the scoresheet: 36...Kc6. The letters "с" and "е" are very similar, and if the king had gone to e6, there would indeed have been a repetition.
So now we had a problem. I asked Caruana if he was happy to agree a draw anyway, but he did not reply. Then I remembered what I was taught when I was a trainee arbiter 60 years ago: if you make a mistake, you are allowed to correct it. So I told the players to play on. Neither objected and the game continued".


khantymansiysk2015.fide.com

"When Sergey claimed a draw, I was sure there had not been a repetition, - said Caruana at the press conference. - But I was confused by the fact that the arbiter confirmed the claim, and I thought "Oh well, there must have been", and I signed the scoresheet, quite annoyed. But then the arbiter changed his mind, which seemed a bit strange to me ..."


twitter.com/ruchess_ru

Sergey Karjakin drew attention to the situation: "It seems to me that today's was a very important episode from the point of view of arbiting, when I mistakenly claimed a draw. The arbiter mistakenly confirmed it. After Caruana realised there was no repetition, the game continued. But at that point, Fabiano had already signed the scoresheet. I think that after this, the arbiter was not allowed to change his decision and continue the game. I would very much like to see this cleared up. If the arbiter failed to follow the rules, then he is at fault and has not shown sufficient competence. But if he did follow the rules, then I will take back my words".


twitter.com/ruchess_ru

[Event "KM FIDE GP 2015"] [Site "Khanty-Mansiysk RUS"] [Date "2015.05.24"] [Round "9.1"] [White "Jakovenko, Dmitry"] [Black "Gelfand, Boris"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "B90"] [Opening "Sicilian"] [Variation "Najdorf, Adams attack"] [EventDate "2015.05.14"] 1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 Nf6 5. Nc3 a6 6. h3 e5 7. Nde2 h5 8. g3 b5 9. Nd5 Nbd7 10. Bg5 Bb7 11. Nec3 Rc8 12. Bg2 Be7 13. Nxe7 Qxe7 14. O-O Qe6 15. Re1 b4 16. Nd5 Bxd5 17. exd5 Qf5 18. Bd2 Rxc2 19. Rc1 Rxc1 20. Qxc1 Nc5 21. Bxb4 Nd3 22. Qc6+ Qd7 23. Qa8+ Qd8 24. Qc6+ Nd7 25. Re4 f5 26. Rc4 e4 27. Qxa6 Nxb4 28. Qxd6 Nd3 29. Qe6+ Kf8 30. Qxf5+ Kg8 31. Qe6+ Kf8 32. Qd6+ Kg8 33. Qe6+ Kf8 34. Qxe4 N3e5 35. Qf5+ Kg8 36. d6 Rh6 37. Re4 h4 38. Rxh4 Rxh4 39. gxh4 Qxh4 40. Bd5+ Kh8 41. Kh1 Qh6 42. f4 g6 43. Qe6 Qf8 44. Bb3 g5 45. f5 Nd3 46. Qxd7 Qa8+ 47. Kg1 Nf4 48. Kf2 g4 49. hxg4 Qg2+ 50. Ke3 Nd5+ 51. Kd4 Qf2+ 52. Kxd5 Qd4+ 53. Kxd4 1/2-1/2 [Event "KM FIDE GP 2015"] [Site "Khanty-Mansiysk RUS"] [Date "2015.05.24"] [Round "9.2"] [White "Karjakin, Sergey"] [Black "Caruana, Fabiano"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "A35"] [Opening "English"] [Variation "symmetrical, four knights system"] [EventDate "2015.05.14"] 1. Nf3 Nf6 2. c4 c5 3. Nc3 Nc6 4. g3 d5 5. d4 e6 6. cxd5 Nxd5 7. Bg2 cxd4 8. Nxd4 Nxc3 9. bxc3 Nxd4 10. Qxd4 Qxd4 11. cxd4 Bd6 12. O-O Rb8 13. e4 b6 14. Bb2 Bb7 15. Rac1 f6 16. Rfd1 Ke7 17. f4 Rhc8 18. e5 fxe5 19. fxe5 Bb4 20. Rxc8 Bxc8 21. Be4 g6 22. Rc1 Kd8 23. Kf2 Bb7 24. Kf3 Bd5 25. Bxd5 exd5 26. Ke3 Rc8 27. a4 Rxc1 28. Bxc1 Kd7 29. Bd2 Be7 30. Kd3 h5 31. a5 bxa5 32. Bxa5 g5 33. h3 g4 34. hxg4 hxg4 35. Ke3 Bg5+ 36. Kd3 Kc6 37. Bd2 Be7 38. Ke3 Bg5+ 39. Kd3 Be7 40. Ke3 Bf8 41. Ba5 Bh6+ 42. Kd3 Kd7 43. Bd2 Bf8 44. Ke3 Ke6 45. Ba5 Kf5 46. Kd3 Be7 47. Ke3 Bg5+ 48. Kd3 Ke6 49. Bd2 Bd8 50. Ke3 Kf5 51. Bb4 a5 52. Ba3 a4 53. Bb4 Bg5+ 54. Kd3 Bc1 55. Bd2 Ba3 56. Kc3 Be7 57. Bh6 a3 58. Kb3 Bb4 59. Bf4 Ke6 60. Bc1 Be1 61. Be3 Bxg3 62. Kxa3 Kf5 63. Kb4 Be1+ 64. Kc5 Ke6 65. Bf4 g3 66. Bg5 Kf5 67. Bf4 Ke6 68. Bg5 Kf5 69. Bf4 Kxf4 70. e6 g2 71. e7 Bb4+ 72. Kxb4 g1=Q 73. e8=Q Qxd4+ 74. Ka5 Qe5 75. Qc8 d4+ 76. Kb4 d3 77. Qh3 Ke4 78. Qh1+ Kd4 79. Qa1+ Kd5 80. Qxe5+ Kxe5 81. Kc3 Ke4 82. Kd2 Kd4 83. Kd1 Kc3 84. Kc1 d2+ 85. Kd1 Kd3 1/2-1/2 [Event "KM FIDE GP 2015"] [Site "Khanty-Mansiysk RUS"] [Date "2015.05.24"] [Round "9.3"] [White "Nakamura, Hikaru"] [Black "Grischuk, Alexander"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "D85"] [Opening "Gruenfeld"] [Variation "exchange variation"] [EventDate "2015.05.14"] 1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 g6 3. Nc3 d5 4. cxd5 Nxd5 5. e4 Nxc3 6. bxc3 Bg7 7. Qa4+ Qd7 8. Qa3 O-O 9. Nf3 b6 10. Bd3 c5 11. O-O Nc6 12. Bb5 cxd4 13. cxd4 a6 14. Be3 Bb7 15. Be2 e6 16. Qb3 b5 17. a4 Na7 18. Ne5 Qd6 19. Bf3 Nc6 20. Nxc6 Bxc6 21. Rac1 Rac8 22. d5 Bd7 23. axb5 axb5 24. g3 exd5 25. exd5 h5 26. Bd2 Rxc1 27. Rxc1 Ra8 28. Bb4 Qe5 29. h4 Ra1 30. Rxa1 Qxa1+ 31. Kg2 1/2-1/2 [Event "KM FIDE GP 2015"] [Site "Khanty-Mansiysk RUS"] [Date "2015.05.24"] [Round "9.4"] [White "Giri, Anish"] [Black "Jobava, Baadur"] [Result "1-0"] [ECO "C10"] [Opening "French"] [Variation "Paulsen variation"] [EventDate "2015.05.14"] 1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. Nc3 Nc6 4. e5 Bd7 5. Nf3 a6 6. a3 f6 7. Bd3 fxe5 8. dxe5 Bc5 9. O-O Nge7 10. Ne2 O-O 11. Nf4 h6 12. c4 Nd4 13. Nxd4 Bxd4 14. cxd5 Nxd5 15. Nxd5 exd5 16. Bc2 c5 17. Be3 Qb6 18. Bxd4 cxd4 19. Qd3 Rf5 20. f4 Bb5 21. Qxf5 d3+ 22. Rf2 Rf8 23. Bxd3 Rxf5 24. Bxf5 Qe3 25. Be6+ 1-0 [Event "KM FIDE GP 2015"] [Site "Khanty-Mansiysk RUS"] [Date "2015.05.24"] [Round "9.5"] [White "Dominguez Perez, Leinier"] [Black "Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "B90"] [Opening "Sicilian"] [Variation "Najdorf"] [EventDate "2015.05.14"] 1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 Nf6 5. Nc3 a6 6. f3 e5 7. Nb3 Be6 8. Be3 Be7 9. Qd2 O-O 10. O-O-O Nbd7 11. g4 b5 12. g5 b4 13. Na4 Nh5 14. Qxb4 d5 15. Qa5 Bxg5 16. Bxg5 Qxg5+ 17. Kb1 dxe4 18. Nd4 Qf6 19. Nxe6 Qxe6 20. fxe4 Ndf6 21. b3 Nxe4 22. Bc4 Qf5 23. Rhf1 Nf4 24. Bd3 Qg6 25. Rg1 Qf5 26. Rgf1 Qg6 27. Rg1 Qf5 28. Rgf1 1/2-1/2 [Event "KM FIDE GP 2015"] [Site "Khanty-Mansiysk RUS"] [Date "2015.05.24"] [Round "9.6"] [White "Svidler, Peter"] [Black "Tomashevsky, Evgeny"] [Result "0-1"] [ECO "C88"] [Opening "Ruy Lopez"] [Variation "closed, anti-Marshall 8.a4"] [EventDate "2015.05.14"] 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3. Bb5 a6 4. Ba4 Nf6 5. O-O Be7 6. Re1 b5 7. Bb3 O-O 8. a4 Bb7 9. d3 d6 10. Nbd2 Na5 11. Ba2 c5 12. Nf1 bxa4 13. Ne3 Bc6 14. Nf5 Bd7 15. N3h4 Kh8 16. f4 Nc6 17. c3 Rb8 18. Rf1 exf4 19. Rxf4 Ne5 20. Nxe7 Qxe7 21. Nf5 Bxf5 22. Rxf5 c4 23. Bxc4 Qa7+ 24. d4 Nxc4 25. Qf1 a3 26. bxa3 Nxe4 27. Qxc4 Rbc8 28. Qd3 Nxc3 29. Be3 Rfe8 30. Raf1 f6 31. Ra5 Qb7 32. Rf3 Qb2 33. h3 Ne4 34. Rxa6 d5 35. Ra5 Rc2 36. Qf1 Qa2 37. Kh2 h6 38. Rf5 Rb8 39. Raxd5 Rxg2+ 40. Qxg2 Rb2 41. Bf2 Nxf2 42. Kg3 Rb3+ 0-1 

With two rounds to go, the overall position is as follows:

Title photo: Kirill Mercuriev, khantymansiysk2015.fide.com


  


Смотрите также...