Sam Shankland: "Wesley So Did the Same Thing in his Game Against Me".

Время публикации: 11.04.2015 07:06 | Последнее обновление: 11.04.2015 13:10

Fellow competitor Sam Shankland discusses the forfeit of Wesley So.


Photo - uschesschamps.com

"As far as the first warning was concerned, Wesley (my good friend) did the same thing [writing notes on the scoresheet - CN] in his game against me in round 2", wrote Shankland in his commentary at the site chess.com. "I told him this is against the rules, and he said "Really?". Then I brought the tournament director over, and the latter confirmed what I had said. Wesley immediately crossed out all his notes and the game continued without further disruptions, until I lost at move 91. I don't know when or what the second warning was for. 

It was painful to see my friend lose in such a fashion. Maybe if I had been in the director's shoes I would have fined the player seriously (for example, players can be fined $500 for arriving late for the game) instead of forfeiting him. On the other hand, if a player is specifically warned that he will be defaulted if he does something again, one cannot blame the arbiter for carrying out this threat. 

However, Wesley is a hardened professional and I am sure he will cope with this setback and show what he is capable of in the final two rounds". 


  


Смотрите также...