List of Participants for B Tournament Dedicated to Gashimov's Memory Published

Время публикации: 17.03.2014 23:22 | Последнее обновление: 18.03.2014 00:07

Chessdom published list of participants for B Tournament dedicated to GM Gashimov's memory. It will take place from April 19-30 in Shamkir, Azerbaijan. Five out of ten players will be from Azerbaijan: 
Etienne BACROT
Wang HAO
Alexander MOTYLEV.

The prize fund of the tournament is EUR 30 000.

Six GMs will compete In A tournament:


Смотрите также...

  • Two round-robin tournaments will be held in Shamkir, Azerbaijan in April this year. As the source told Chess-News, naming the participants except those who already confirmed their participation is premature. Magnus Carlsen is expected to play and there's a big probability that two leading Azerbaijani GMs (Teimour Radjabov and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov) will also participate. The participants of the B-group is also not known yet. 

  • Six GMs including world champion to play in Gashimov's memory 

  • Shamkir ready to hold two competitions dedicated to Vugar Gashimov's memory. The participants of the A group are Carlsen, Caruana, Nakamura, Karjakin, Mamedyarov and Radjabov. 

    Participants of B group are Wang Hao, Woijtaszek, Bacrot, Motylev, Eljanov, Mamedov, Safarli, Guseinov, Durarbeyli and Abbasov. 

    Today the players visited the graves of Vugar Gashimov and Heydar Aliyev (the national leader of Azerbaijan). 

  • The line-up has been announced

  • The medals for the international tournament in Vugar Gashimov's memory will be made in Germany, while the cups should be delivered from Turkey, reports referring to оfficial website

  • informs that Vugar Gashimov will not be able to take part in the Olympiad because of his poor health. Azerbaijan will be represented by Teimour Radjabov, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Eltaj Safarli, Rauf Mamedov and Gadir Guseinov.

    "We all feel very sorry but we do hope that this tournament will be the last one missed by Vugar and that he would return back into the team and big chess” – Head coach of the team Vladimir Tukmakov says.

  • The 8th Tal Memorial will take place from June 12th-24th in Moscow. The Russia Chess Federation published the participants' list:
    Magnus Carlsen
    Vladimir Kramnik
    Sergey Karjakin
    Vishy Anand
    Fabiano Caruana
    Hikaru Nakamura
    Shakhriyar Mamedyarov
    Alexander Morozevich
    Boris Gelfand
    Dmitry Andreikin .

  • The Third Vugar Gashimov Memorial tournament opened in Shamkir in western Azerbaijan on Wednesday

  • Rauf Mamedov, who has given an interview for the Russian version of our website in the evening of February 12th, had learnt just a few minites before going on the air that he was among the players invited to the second Gashimov Memorial. That has become a total surprise for the reigning Azerbaijani champion:

  • According to our source, the 2nd tournament in memory of Vugar Gashimov will take place in April or May 2015 in Shamkir, Azerbaijan. The details haven't been revealed yet, but supposedly it will be a double round-robin tournament of six grandmasters.

    The first Gashimov Memorial, which has taken place in April 2014, has become one of the most impressive tournaments of the year.